Brace yourselves, gamers: The biggest shopping event of the summer is going down in just a few weeks. Amazon has officially announced the dates and times for Prime Day 2019, its annual sitewide sale akin to Black Friday. Prime Day 2019 will begin July 15 at 12 AM PT / 3 AM ET / 8 AM BST / 5 PM AET and run for exactly 48 hours, ending on July 17 at midnight PT. Last year’s sale ran for 36 hours, so this year’s Prime Day will be the longest-running yet. And that doesn’t even account for all the pre-Prime Day deals that are likely to pop up between now and July 15.

First of all, to take advantage of Amazon Prime Day 2019, you’ll have to be a Prime member. Amazon’s annual premium membership comes with a one-month free trial; after that, it costs $119 a year (or $13 per month). If you’re a currently enrolled student, you can take advantage of Prime Student, which has a six-month free trial and afterward costs only $59 a year (or $6.49 per month). Besides access to Prime Day deals, Prime membership has plenty of benefits year-round, including free two-day (or faster) shipping, unlimited Prime Video access, automatic Twitch Prime membership (which offers free monthly PC games and in-game loot), music streaming, and more. If you’re not ready to commit to the full package, you can still sign up for a free one-month trial to participate in Prime Day–just make sure to cancel after.

Unlike most everyday sales, Prime Day includes a few different types of deals to be aware of before the event rolls around. Besides the Prime Day-exclusive deals that will be available during the entire 48 hours (or until they go out of stock), there will also be Early Access deals available in the days leading up to Prime Day to get people excited. These deals will most likely showcase Amazon devices such as the Echo Show and Fire TV Stick. Spotlight Deals will run for 24 hours, and Lightning Deals, which tend to be the best, are available for only a short time and have a limited stock–sometimes, they’ll sell out within minutes. We’ll keep you updated on the best Lightning Deals via GameSpot Deals on Twitter, so be sure to give that a follow and check back often during Prime Day.

Even though you can’t see lines out the door and people shoving their way through crowds to fill their cart, Prime Day is as hectic as Black Friday, which can cause the site to crash and products to sell out faster than you can blink. While we can’t predict how Amazon’s servers will hold up during Prime Day 2019, we can make your shopping experience a bit easier by curating the best game and console deals so you’re aware of all the options. We’ll be covering the best PS4, Nintendo Switch, Xbox One, and PC game and console deals, as well as discounts on VR hardware, tabletop games, Funko Pops, and more, right here at GameSpot. Whether you’re shopping for yourself or getting in some early holiday shopping, Prime Day 2019 will be an excellent chance to grab anything that’s been sitting on your wishlist.



Source link