Star Wars Celebration is finally here, and there are several noteworthy panels poised to announce details about upcoming games, movies, and TV shows. The event is scheduled for the full weekend, so we’ll keep updating this hub of information with additional announcements as they occur.

Ahead of Star Wars Celebration, we already know there are scheduled panels for the upcoming movie Star Wars: Episode IX, as well as TV shows The Mandalorian and The Clone Wars animated series. Respawn is also set to have an official reveal for its scheduled Star Wars video game, Jedi Fallen Order. The full schedule is available for anyone to see, and many of the panels will be live streamed. So if you can’t make it out to Chicago this weekend, you can still follow along online.

Star Wars Celebration is an annual event for fans of the stories told a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far, away. Although there are several exhibits, panels, and viewings that celebrate Star Wars vibrant past, most of the event is devoted to teasing tidbits of the franchise’s future, whether that’s new movies, television shows, books, or comics.

Where To Watch

There are two major panels at Star Wars Celebration this year. The first is devoted to Episode IX and is occurring today at 11 AM CDT, which works out to 12 PM ET, 9 AM PT, 5 PM GMT, and 4 AM AEDT in Australia on Saturday. The second is scheduled for the reveal of Respawn’s upcoming Star Wars game, Jedi Fallen Order, and happens on Saturday at 1:30 PM CDT, which works out to 2:30 PM ET, 11:30 AM PT, 7:30 PM GMT, and 6:30 AM AEDT in Australia on Sunday.

You can watch the Episode IX panel here.

You can watch the Jedi Fallen Order panel here.

Episode IX

Star Wars: Episode IX has yet to be named, but we expect that to change very soon. Completing the third Star Wars trilogy that started with J.J. Abrams’ The Force Awakens, Episode IX is scheduled to release in December 2019. Initially, Jurassic World’s Colin Trevorrow was directing the final major act of Rey, Finn, and Poe’s story, but Disney fired him over creative differences. Abrams was brought on as his replacement.

Little is known about the plotline for Episode IX. The Last Jedi dismissed several of the more notable plotlines surrounding the characters from The Force Awakens–such as the importance of Snoke and Captain Phasma, as well as the identity of Rey’s parents. However, The Last Jedi director Rian Johnson has said he’d be okay if Abrams chooses to retcon Rey’s parentage in Episode IX.

Jedi Fallen Order

Like Episode IX, little has been confirmed about Respawn’s Jedi Fallen Order. A brief teaser of a broken lightsaber’s glowing hilt accompanied by the message “Don’t stand out” has been released, and, during E3 2018, Respawn boss Vince Zampella announced Jedi Fallen Order would take place after Revenge of the Sith. The game puts players into the boots of a Jedi padawan that escapes Order 66, and will release during 2019’s holiday season. Knights of the Old Republic II – The Sith Lords writer Chris Avellone has also announced he’s finished his portion of Jedi Fallen Order.

Additional details are expected to be revealed during the Jedi Fallen Order panel during Star Wars Celebration. “Join the head of Respawn Entertainment, Vince Zampella, and Game Director, Stig Asmussen, along with many special guests, to be the first to learn about this holiday’s highly anticipated action adventure game, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order,” the panel description reads. “Hear how Respawn and Lucasfilm collaborated on this original Star Wars story, following a young Padawan’s journey in the Dark Times following Order 66. And of course, we’ll have a few surprises in store.”

The Clone Wars Animated Series

Star Wars: The Clone Wars animated series is getting a surprise seventh season, which sees the reunion of Anakin Skywalker and his padawan learner, Ahsoka Tano, after she left the Jedi Order at the end of Season 5.

Based on the Season 7 San Diego Comic-Con trailer–which can be seen above–the show’s return picks up mere moments before the start of Revenge of the Sith. Anakin and Obi-Wan are called in to take a hologram call, only to see that it’s Ahsoka and Mandalorian warrior Bo-Katan Kryze. In the novel Ahsoka, we learn that Anakin, Obi-Wan, and Ahsoka reunite on Mandalore after Ahsoka leaves the Jedi Order–just prior to the former two being called away to save Chancellor Palpatine from being kidnapped by General Grievous. However, before then, the three, along with Clone Captain Rex and Commander Cody, go on to fight in one last battle: the Siege of Mandalore.

The Mandalorian

The Mandalorian is one of the TV series to launch with Disney+, the company’s new streaming service. The series takes place prior to the events of The Force Awakens, and a panel during Star Wars Celebration is scheduled to reveal additional details.

The first season consists of eight episodes and showrunner Jon Favreau believes it will serve as a good entry point for those unfamiliar with Star Wars. “Since we’re starting with new characters in a new time period, it’s a great way to bring new fans in,” he said.



Source link