With Nintendo Directs proving to be a popular way to share news outside of E3-style press conferences, Sony is taking a page out of Nintendo’s playbook. Sony has announced State of Play, an upcoming livestreamed event. The company describes this as a “new video program” that will provide viewers with updates, news, and game announcements from the world of PlayStation. The first episode will be live streamed online this Monday, March 25.

According to a post on the PlayStation Blog, the episode will “showcase upcoming PS4 and PS VR software, including new trailers, new game announcements, and new gameplay footage.” The show will be available to watch on Twitch, YouTube, Twitter, Facebook, and, of course, GameSpot. The stream begins in the afternoon US time, as outlined below.

Sony PlayStation March 25 State of Play Livestream

  • 2 PM PT
  • 5 PM ET
  • 9 PM GMT
  • 8 AM AET (March 26)

Sony says that State of Play will return throughout the year with more updates and announcement. The confirmation of this series of Nintendo Direct-style events will no doubt be exciting for PlayStation fans, especially since the company has confirmed it will not be attending E3 2019.

“As the industry evolves, Sony Interactive Entertainment continues to look for inventive opportunities to engage the community,” the company said, explaining its decision to skip the annual trade show. “PlayStation fans mean the world to us and we always want to innovate, think differently and experiment with new ways to delight gamers. As a result, we have decided not to participate in E3 in 2019. We are exploring new and familiar ways to engage our community in 2019 and can’t wait to share our plans with you.”

It seems State of Play is one of the new and familiar ways Sony intends to engage the PlayStation community. While it hasn’t detailed what games it may showcase, there are a number of big PlayStation titles currently on the way. Naughty Dog is working on The Last of Us 2, Sucker Punch has Ghost of Tsushima, Media Molecule is building Dreams, and Sony Bend’s Days Gone is set for launch in April. Kojima Productions’ Death Stranding is also on the way as a PS4 exclusive.

Sony will no doubt also use the platform to showcase some of the third-party and indie titles that are in the pipeline for both PS4 and PlayStation VR. Check back on March 25 and we’ll have all the news from the event for you.

Nintendo just this week held its latest Nindies spring showcase, which revealed and further details a variety of new Switch games. Microsoft, which occasionally shares news through Inside Xbox streams, followed up Sony’s new today with word that it will have a special Xbox live stream showcase of its own on Tuesday, March 26.



Source link