Google is preparing to make its way into the world of video games with a special presentation at the Game Developers Conference. The presentation will take place as a GDC keynote today, March 19 at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 5 PM GMT, and Google promises it will reveal its “vision for the future of gaming.”

Google will be streaming the entire presentation through its own YouTube video platform, so you can come right back here at showtime to see it all firsthand. It hasn’t specified how long this will run for or exactly what kind of news it has in store, although a display seen in the GDC lobby suggests it will have some kind of hardware to showcase.

The company released a teaser video that showed vignettes of different common game genres, suggesting big plans for its own platform. Whatever it is, we’ll be rounding up all the Google gaming news in one place for you.

The announcement may be related to Project Stream, a cloud gaming platform from Google. It partnered with Ubisoft last year to offer Assassin’s Creed Odyssey to play through Chrome browsers for free to testers. Google has been rumored to be working on a “Project Yeti,” which is thought to be its equivalent of a console. The company also recently hired former Ubisoft and EA studio head Jade Raymond, suggesting she could be playing a role in the company’s gaming plans.

Perhaps related to Project Stream, Google has filed for a trademark on something called Google Stream. Trademarks aren’t always utilized, but the basic details included in the filing would seem to make sense for a cloud gaming service.

To learn more about cloud gaming ahead of Google’s announcement, check out GameSpot’s primer on how cloud gaming works and what it could mean for the future and some of the companies investing most heavily in the tech. Among others, Sony already offers its PlayStation Now service, and Microsoft once again just recently showcased its upcoming xCloud tech.



Source link