The Game Awards will kick off soon, providing loads of trailers and game reveals alongside the accolades and a look back at the year that was 2018. You’ll probably want to check it all out live to see the events as they happen, and you can do that right here. The event kicks off tonight, Thursday, December 6, at 8:30 PM ET / 5:30 PM PT / (Friday at 1:30 AM GMT / 12:30 PM AET).

The Game of the Year nominees for this year are Assassin’s Creed Odyssey, Celeste, God of War, Marvel’s Spider-Man, Monster Hunter World, and Red Dead Redemption 2. God of War and Red Dead are frontrunners with eight nominations each. Those two along with Spider-Man are also up for Best Direction. Some other categories include Best Ongoing Game and several new Esports categories. Check out the full list of awards and nominees.

While there are sure to be plenty of surprises, some studios have already begun teasing their upcoming announcements. Obsidian will be showing off an apparent space-themed game, Ubisoft teased a Far Cry announcement with a bang, and we’re going to see something big for Fortnite unrelated to the kickoff of Season 7. Other companies have dropped hints that could suggest announcements on the way too, so check out everything we know or think we know.

Meanwhile, some other publishers have gone out of their way to point out they won’t be showing anything new. Those include The Last of Us 2 and Cyberpunk 2077. Rocksteady also pointed out that it won’t be bringing its unannounced project, and in the process dispelled some persistent rumors that it was working on a Superman game.



Source link