Rockstar Games will finally show off a gameplay trailer for Red Dead Redemption 2 today, offering eager fans their first opportunity to see exactly what playing the sequel will be like when it launches later this year. As previously announced, the video will make its debut at at 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET / 4 PM BST / 1 AM AEST (August 10), and you’ll be able to watch it on Rockstar’s YouTube, Facebook, and Twitch channels. Of course, GameSpot will also have the trailer for you to watch, so keep an eye on this article to check it out the moment it’s released.

Up until now Rockstar has provided precious few details on Read Dead Redemption 2 gameplay, opting instead to release a few cinematic trailers that deliver some insight into the story of the game and set the mood for it. Red Dead Redemption 2 takes place in America in the year 1899, at the end of the wild west era. Lawmen have begun hunting the last remaining outlaw gangs, killing off those that don’t surrender.

“After a robbery goes badly wrong in the western town of Blackwater, Arthur Morgan and the Van der Linde gang are forced to flee,” Rockstar explained. “With federal agents and the best bounty hunters in the nation massing on their heels, the gang must rob, steal and fight their way across the rugged heartland of America in order to survive. As deepening internal divisions threaten to tear the gang apart, Arthur must make a choice between his own ideals and loyalty to the gang who raised him … Red Dead Redemption 2 is an epic tale of life in America at the dawn of the modern age.”

The story follows outlaw Arthur Morgan and the Van der Linde gang as they fight for survival by robbing and stealing their way across the heart of America. A previous trailer confirmed that the first Red Dead Redemption’s protagonist, John Marston, will make an appearance.

After delays, Rockstar’s parent company Take-Two has said Red Dead Redemption 2’s release date won’t change again, and it will launch on October 26. Currently it is set for release on PS4 and Xbox One. Although a PC version hasn’t officially been confirmed, a programmer working on the game has indicated that Read Dead Redemption 2 could come to PC.

Rockstar’s last major game, Grand Theft Auto V, was released on PC and has seen massive sales, so much so that Take-Two CEO Strauss Zelnick said it would be unrealistic to expect Red Dead Redemption 2 to have similar sales to GTA V. Nevertheless, the company is confident in what the game will achieve, saying it is “yet another creative milestone” for Rockstar and that Red Dead Redemption 2 aims to “redefine our industry” and “captivate audiences around the world.”



Source link