Gaming’s most prestigious fighting game tournament, EVO, is just around the corner. This year’s competition takes place this weekend in Las Vegas, Nevada, and features some of the most recognizable names in esports battling for the top spot in a number of popular fighting games. Even if you can’t attend the event in-person, however, you can still follow along with all the action online.

EVO will stream the entire competition on Twitch, so you can catch all of the matches as they unfold from the comfort of your home. The tournament kicks off on Friday, August 3, at 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET and runs through the weekend, concluding with the Top 8 Finals of Guilty Gear Xrd Rev 2, Super Smash Bros. Melee, and other games on Sunday, August 5. You can see the full tournament schedule below.

Eight different fighting games will be featured at this year’s tournament, including the aforementioned Super Smash Bros. Melee, Tekken 7, BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle, and the newest addition to the EVO lineup, Dragon Ball FighterZ. These will be streamed throughout the weekend across EVO’s seven different Twitch channels, while the Capcom Fighters channel will exclusively broadcast matches of Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition. The full stream schedule is outlined below.

No Caption Provided

Aside from the intense competition, EVO is where developers traditionally reveal big fighting game announcements. Last year’s competition featured the most world premiere announcements in the tournament’s history; it offered fans their first glimpse of Trunks in Dragon Ball FighterZ and revealed the return of Skullomania, among other announcements.

This year’s tournament seems like it will also feature a few surprises for fighting game fans. EVO global business dev Mark Julio teased on Twitter that gamers “definitely do not want to miss out” on the event and reiterated that last year’s competition featured a “record number” of announcements. What announcements await this year remains to be seen, but you can learn more about the tournament on the official EVO website.

EVO 2018 Finals Schedule

August 5

  • 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET — Guilty Gear Xrd: Rev 2
  • 10:30 AM PT / 1:30 PM ET — Super Smash Bros. Melee
  • 1:30 PM PT / 4:30 PM ET — Tekken 7
  • 4: PM / 7 PM ET — Dragon Ball FighterZ
  • 7:30 PM PT / 10:30 PM ET — Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition



Source link